BB: 2012 West Regional

Started by CrashDavisD3, December 16, 2011, 09:10:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CrashDavisD3

Where will 2012 be?   When this be announced?

Past Regional Sites

2011 Abilene, TX (McMurry)
2010 McMinnville, OR (Linfield)
2009 McMinnville, OR (Linfield)
2008 Abilene, TX(McMurry)
2007 Orange, CA(Chapman)
2006 Orange, CA(Chapman)
2005 Orange, CA(Chapman)
2004 Orange, CA(Chapman)
2003 Orange, CA(Chapman)

This... is a simple game. You throw the ball. You hit the ball. You catch the ball.  "There are three types of baseball players: those who make things happen, those who watch it happen, and those who wonder what happened."
Crash Davis Bio - http://www.baseballamerica.com/today/minors/crash0908.html

108 Stitches

I am new to D3 baseball and thought it was awarded based on performance. I went back and looked at McMurray's record and based on last years record, this could not have been the case. I do know you have to have the facilities to support a regional. I am hoping (maybe foolishly) that Trinity (Tx) actually does their field improvements so they can host one in a couple of years. 

CrashDavisD3

Quote from: 108 Stitches on December 16, 2011, 11:15:28 AM
I am new to D3 baseball and thought it was awarded based on performance. I went back and looked at McMurray's record and based on last years record, this could not have been the case. I do know you have to have the facilities to support a regional. I am hoping (maybe foolishly) that Trinity (Tx) actually does their field improvements so they can host one in a couple of years. 
In recent years performance/record were not part of the criteria. In recent years it is rewarded to team/location based upon some of the following criteria.

1) Facilties - Must have lights and enclosed press box
2) School/Team must bid on it with the NCAA. It takes time/money/people to host a Regional.

With these criteria above only a few programs can host a regional in the West.