Author Topic: Scoring Question  (Read 3568 times)

Offline putmeincoach

  • Second-stringer
  • **
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: +44/-5
    • View Profile
Scoring Question
« on: April 02, 2013, 03:08:41 pm »

How many earned runs are in this scenario?

Batter 1 walked. Batter 1 stole second. Batter 2 flied out to 2b. Batter 3 doubled to left center; Batter 1 scored.  Batter 3 advanced to third on a wild pitch. Batter 4 reached on an error by 3b.  Batter 5 doubled to left field; Batter 4 advanced to third; Batter 3 scored. Batter 6 grounded out to 3b.  Batter 7 walked. Batter 8 doubled to left field; Batter 7 scored; Batter 5 scored; Batter 4 scored. Batter 9, P struck out swinging. 5 runs, 3 hits, 1 error, 1 LOB.

Offline y_jack_lok

  • All-American
  • ******
  • Posts: 3079
  • Karma: +168/-40
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2013, 04:29:56 pm »
Fun question. I don't really know how this is done, but I would say two of the 5 runs are earned based on the following logic:

1) Batter #1 scored with one out and before any errors were committed.
2) Batter #3 reached base legitimately on his double and although he advanced to 3rd on the wild pitch he did not score on the throwing error on batter 4's AB, which presumably would have been out #2. So, assuming he would have still been on second base with two outs and batter #5 doubled he would have scored anyway.

Since there should have been two outs when batter #6 came to the plate and batter # 6 grounded out, and thus should have been the 3rd out, all other runs are unearned.

Offline putmeincoach

  • Second-stringer
  • **
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: +44/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2013, 04:35:49 pm »
thanks

Offline mr_b

  • All-Region
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +118/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2013, 06:15:06 pm »
Two earned runs.  The error would have been the second out, so the ground out by Batter #6 would have ended the inning with only two runners scoring. 

Offline BigPoppa

  • All-American
  • ******
  • Posts: 4587
  • Karma: +283/-82
    • View Profile
    • Carthage Baseball
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2013, 09:21:46 pm »
Can we assume this scenario actually happened? If so, how many earned runs did the official scorer decide on?
Baseball is not a game that builds character, it is a game that reveals it.

Offline putmeincoach

  • Second-stringer
  • **
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: +44/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2013, 12:05:51 pm »
Can we assume this scenario actually happened? If so, how many earned runs did the official scorer decide on?

yes this is an actual scenario - official score keeper - 5 earned runs

Offline Just Bill

  • All-American
  • ******
  • Posts: 3949
  • Karma: +691/-204
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2013, 12:28:08 pm »
Seeing that you're a 19-year old male leads me to believe you may have had direct involvement in this inning. If so, contact your school's SID and POLITELY let him/her know that you believe there may have been a mistake made in this inning. If they were the home SID that scored the game, they can choose to make the change. If they were the visiting team, your SID can request a change from the home SID. Ultimately, only the home team's SID can make a change to the stats.

Remember that, especially at the D-III level, schools often only have one SID and they are stretched very thin. This game may have been scored by a student who didn't understand the rules well. Usually when a mistake (that's not a judgment call) is pointed out most professional SIDs will gladly make the corrections. They want to get it right, too.

« Last Edit: April 04, 2013, 12:33:42 pm by Just Bill »
"That seems silly and pointless..." - Hoops Fan

The first and still most accurate description of the D3 Championship BeltTM thread.

Offline y_jack_lok

  • All-American
  • ******
  • Posts: 3079
  • Karma: +168/-40
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2013, 02:39:40 pm »

This game may have been scored by a student who didn't understand the rules well. Usually when a mistake (that's not a judgment call) is pointed out most professional SIDs will gladly make the corrections. They want to get it right, too.


That's an interesting point. Which leads me to ask if the original post is taken from the play-by-play or if it is the way putmeincoach interpreted events on the field. Much is in the eye of the beholder in these situations and lots of these decisions are judgment calls.

Offline Just Bill

  • All-American
  • ******
  • Posts: 3949
  • Karma: +691/-204
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2013, 09:28:44 am »
Given the format that the original play is written in, it appears to have been cut-and-pasted from the play-by-play with the names then swapped out.
"That seems silly and pointless..." - Hoops Fan

The first and still most accurate description of the D3 Championship BeltTM thread.

Offline Kohawk Krazy

  • Starter
  • ***
  • Posts: 547
  • Karma: +225/-34
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2013, 03:43:06 am »
That's a pretty clear cut inning. Everything in the "Batter 7 walked. Batter 8 doubled to left field; Batter 7 scored; Batter 5 scored; Batter 4 scored. Batter 9, P struck out swinging. 5 runs, 3 hits, 1 error, 1 LOB." section is unearned.